Me and Justice #FabulousVibes


I remember the first time I met Justice Bennett. I was an incoming freshman at my high school, and we were having Crimson Day, a freshman orientation of sorts. I was looking around the auditorium, as I didn’t know anyone and I was very nervous. After a short period of time, Justice and her friend came up to us.

“Hey!” She said, the ball of energy that she is. “My name is Justice, and this is my friend, Kris.”

I waved back shyly. “I’m Akwellé.”

“That’s a beautiful name!” We smiled at each other for a second. “We’re sophomores, by the way.” I was shocked. With the way Justice carried herself, I assumed she was a senior.

“That’s cool.” A silence ensued. It would normally be considered awkward, but with Justice, it wasn’t. Her vibe was immediately comforting, and even though I was extremely anxious only a couple minutes ago, at that moment, I was at ease.

“Do you have any questions?”

“Yeah. Um, is there a step team here?”

Justice’s face lit up. “There is a step team here! As a matter of fact, Kris and I are on it! It’s called the Dreamers. Are you thinking of trying out?”

I nodded my head and offered a soft smile. This girl is really cool, and she’s on the step team? Wow.

Shortly after our conversation, Justice and Kris had to part ways with me, but that was okay. It was one of my first experiences in high school, and because of her, it was shaping up to be great.

***

I didn’t realize it at the time, but Justice has always had the “auntie” vibe. Fun, a little stern, and very caring. I can recall one instance where she really let this show: the step team tryouts my freshman year.

The day after we learned the dance/step combo, us freshmen looked like baby deer as we waited to be called up to try out. Justice quickly got us into shape.

“Remember, guys,” she said, in her clear voice. “Be loud! Keep your arms straight! And facial expressions are key! You know the steps, just go out there and do them.” Justice made me feel like there was no way I wasn’t going to make the team. After I did the routine, Justice calmed me down and reminded me that even though I made mistakes, everyone did, and I was going to be fine even if I wasn’t perfect.

I was cut, but I was feeling okay because the next year, I was on the team, stepping my heart out. Justice, however, wasn’t there. 2016 was the magic year, because both of us were stepping. Finally, a friendship could begin to blossom.

***

I was there at the very beginning of Justice’s blog, and I’m proud to say that I’ve read every post and watched every video (except one… sorry girl!) and eveything she’s written is golden. I love reading what she has to say, and her advice is priceless. Since her blog’s started, I’ve seen myself blossom into a more confident young woman, and I’ve grown more appreication for the color of my skin. I’m so proud of Justice. She’s smart, savvy, strong, and independent. Don’t be surprised if, a few years from now, you and your friends are wearing FabulousVibes merchandise! From the very beginning, even before we were friends, Justice has looked out for me, she’s included me, and she’s cared about me. For that, I am forever greatful.

Justice, I want you to know how much I love and care about you. Now, you’re getting older, and you’re doing bigger and better things, like going to college! I’m proud of you. I’ll try to stick around with you, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up! You’re going to do great things, girly. Enjoy your birthday, Auntie J!

***

Guys, experience the great things I’ve experienced with Justice’s blog, brand, and #FabulousVibes movement! Click here or click the link on Joursive’s “Social” page to read all of the great writing, and follow Justice on Instagram and Twitter @Auntiejustice!

 

 

Thoughts? Let us know!

